This guide covers 13 restaurants in Oita Prefecture that Tabelog (食べログ), a Japanese restaurant-review site, has chosen for its “Hyakumeiten” (百名店, “Top 100”) lists or its Tabelog Award 2026. Each Hyakumeiten list covers one food genre and is announced in a set year. The Tabelog Award is a separate yearly prize with Silver and Bronze ranks. Four of the 13 are in Beppu, four are in Yufuin, and the rest are in Kitsuki, Oita City, Usuki, Saiki and Ajimu.
In short
- Beppu and Oita City are reached from Hakata Station by Sonic limited express (fastest 2 hours 1 minute) or by Nishitetsu highway bus. Yufuin is a direct highway bus from Tenjin (about 2 hours 25 minutes).
- Booking rules differ a lot. Hirokado takes online reservations only and opens them on the 1st of each month. Miyako Hamburg takes none. Okinadaruma takes bookings only for its evening course.
- Okinadaruma and Miyako Hamburg are cash only, according to their official pages.
- Most official pages are in Japanese. This guide says “Not stated” where an official page does not say whether English is supported.
Checked with official pages on October 11, 2026.
1. The 13 restaurants at a glance
Depends on the provider
Four restaurants are in Beppu and four in Yufuin; Hirokado takes online reservations only, and Atelier needs one by 5 p.m. on the day. “Selection” shows the year of the Hyakumeiten list (or the Tabelog Award 2026 rank) as shown on Tabelog’s official pages. The order is not a ranking.
| Restaurant | Area and genre | Selection | Booking |
|---|---|---|---|
| Somuri | Beppu, steak | Hyakumeiten 2025 | Web or phone |
| GENOVA | Beppu, gelato | Hyakumeiten 2026 | Not stated |
| Atelier | Beppu, French | Hyakumeiten 2025 | Required, by 5 p.m. that day |
| Hirokado | Beppu, Japanese | Award Silver, Hyakumeiten 2025 | Web only |
| B-speak | Yufuin, sweets | Hyakumeiten 2026 | Not stated |
| Kunuginooka | Yufuin, Italian | Hyakumeiten 2025 | Unclear |
| Tenjo Sajiki | Yufuin, cafe | Hyakumeiten 2026 | Not stated |
| JIMGU | Yufuin, creative | Award Bronze, Hyakumeiten 2025 | Web (OMAKASE) |
| Okinadaruma | Kitsuki, soba | Hyakumeiten 2025 | Evening course only |
| Miyako Hamburg | Oita City, hamburg steak | Hyakumeiten 2025 | Not taken |
| Yamadaya | Usuki, fugu | Award Bronze | Phone |
| Yakiniku Itou | Saiki, yakiniku | Award Bronze, Hyakumeiten 2025 | Phone or web |
| Yamasa Ryokan | Ajimu, soft-shelled turtle | Award Bronze | Phone |
2. How do I get there from Fukuoka?
Depends on the provider
From Hakata Station to Oita or Beppu, the Sonic limited express takes 2 hours 1 minute at the fastest. Yufuin is reached by a direct highway bus. Both highway buses below use reserved seats, so you need a reservation.
| To | Transport | Time |
|---|---|---|
| Oita, Beppu | Sonic limited express from Hakata (JR Kyushu) | Fastest 2 h 1 min |
| Oita (Tokiwa-mae) | Toyokuni-go super non-stop bus from Tenjin (Nishitetsu) | 2 h 30 min |
| Yufuin Ekimae | Yufuin-go bus from Tenjin (Nishitetsu) | About 2 h 25 min |
The Yufuin-go fare shown by Nishitetsu is ¥3,250 for adults one way, or ¥2,880 with the advance web fare “WEB Hayabiki 7”. Nishitetsu says times are the fastest or standard for each section and roads can delay the bus. For Beppu, Nishitetsu has a separate page for the Toyokuni-go stop. To reach Kitsuki, Usuki and Saiki, change at Oita Station to the JR Nippo Line.
3. Somuri Beppu Main Shop (豊後牛ステーキの店 そむり 別府本店): Bungo beef steak
Beppu City
A steak restaurant near Beppu Station. Tabelog lists it in “Steak and Teppanyaki WEST Hyakumeiten 2025” (announced August 19, 2025).
Lunch is a 150 g fillet steak lunch for ¥3,600 or the “Somuri Lunch” (fried shrimp and hamburger steak) for ¥1,900; the dinner Bungo sirloin steak course (120 g) starts at ¥8,900 (tax included). The official page lists lunch at 11:30–14:00 (last order 13:30) and dinner at 17:30–21:30 (last order 20:30). It lists Monday and Wednesday dinner as closed days. You can book through the web form on the site or by phone; party courses and take-out need a reservation. The site has an English version; the page does not say whether staff speak English. Payment methods: Not stated.
Getting there: By train from Fukuoka, take the Sonic limited express from Hakata Station to Beppu or Oita (fastest 2 hours 1 minute). The official site gives a 6-minute walk from Beppu Station.
View this post on Instagram
Address: Kasaoka Shoten Building 2F, 1-4-28 Kitahama, Beppu City. Phone: 0977-24-6830. Google Maps
4. GENOVA (冷乳果工房GENOVA): gelato near Beppu Station
Beppu City
A gelato shop. Tabelog lists it in “Ice Cream and Gelato Hyakumeiten 2026” (announced August 18, 2026), its first selection.
The shop’s Instagram gives a 5-minute walk from Beppu Station and posts holiday closures there. The online shop’s legal notice lists 12:00–21:00 and Wednesday as the closed day. Prices in the store are Not stated by the shop; the online shop lists the “Strawberry Cubic” (milk ice cream with crunchy strawberry slices) at ¥550 and pistachio at ¥650. Reservations: Not stated. Payment in the store: Not stated.
Getting there: By train from Fukuoka, take the Sonic limited express from Hakata Station to Beppu or Oita (fastest 2 hours 1 minute).
View this post on Instagram
Address: 1-10-5 Kitahama, Beppu City (from the online shop’s legal notice). Google Maps
5. Atelier (アトリエ), ANA InterContinental Beppu: charcoal-grilled French
Beppu City
A French restaurant on the 4th floor of ANA InterContinental Beppu Resort & Spa. Tabelog lists it in “Yoshoku WEST Hyakumeiten 2025” (announced June 24, 2025), its first selection.
It serves dinner only, 17:00–21:30, at a 21-seat counter. You must reserve by 5 p.m. on the day, and children aged 12 and under cannot dine. A 5-course dinner is ¥15,000, the autumn course is ¥21,000 (September 1 to November 30, 2026) and an 8-course dinner is ¥28,000 (book by the day before). Prices include tax; a 15% service charge is added to the tax-excluded price. Cancellation costs 50% of the meal from 3 days before and 100% from 24 hours before. The dress code is smart casual; yukata and slippers are not allowed. Book online or by phone.
Getting there: By train from Fukuoka, take the Sonic limited express from Hakata Station to Beppu or Oita (fastest 2 hours 1 minute). The hotel’s official site explains how to reach the hotel; this guide does not repeat it.
Address: 4F, ANA InterContinental Beppu Resort & Spa, 499-18 Kannawa, Beppu City. Phone: 0977-76-8258. Google Maps
6. Hirokado (日本料理 別府 廣門): seven-seat Japanese counter
Beppu City
A Japanese restaurant near Beppu IC. It won Silver in The Tabelog Award 2026 and is in “Japanese Cuisine WEST Hyakumeiten 2025” (announced March 25, 2025).
There is one course for lunch and dinner: ¥33,000, rising to ¥35,000 from December 2026. Lunch starts at 12:00 and dinner at 18:00, with all guests starting together. Booking is online only through TableCheck; slots up to the last day of the month three months ahead open on the 1st of each month at 10:00. Cancellation costs 30% from 7 days before, 50% from 3 days before and 100% the day before; arriving more than 20 minutes late without notice is treated as a cancellation. Guests with a buckwheat (soba) allergy are asked not to come. Children must be of elementary school age or older and eat the same course. Closed days are irregular; payment methods: Not stated.
Getting there: By train from Fukuoka, take the Sonic limited express from Hakata Station to Beppu or Oita (fastest 2 hours 1 minute). From Beppu Station, the official page gives about 15 minutes by taxi, or Kamenoi Bus line 36 from the West Exit to “Itanohira Mukai Hospital” then a 5-minute walk. By car it is about 30 seconds from Beppu IC, with 3 spaces in front.
View this post on Instagram
Address: 4-kumi 2 Horita, Beppu City. Phone: 050-3647-3123. Google Maps
7. B-speak (ビー・スピーク): P-roll cakes in Yufuin
Yufu City (Yufuin)
A roll-cake shop. Tabelog lists it in “Sweets WEST Hyakumeiten 2026” (announced September 1, 2026).
The “P-roll” (plain or chocolate) is ¥1,620 for one roll including tax and is sold in the store only. The official page says quantities are limited and it may sell out early. The shop is open 10:00–17:00, which may change, and closes on irregular days about twice a year. There is no car park. The page lists a separate reservation phone number, 0977-28-2066, but does not say what it is for. Payment methods: Not stated.
Getting there: take the Yufuin-go highway bus from Tenjin to Yufuin Ekimae (about 2 hours 25 minutes).
View this post on Instagram
Address: 3040-2 Kawakami, Yufuin-machi, Yufu City. Phone: 0977-28-2166. Google Maps
8. Kunuginooka (檪の丘): hilltop Italian
Yufu City (Yufuin)
An Italian restaurant. Tabelog lists it in “Italian WEST Hyakumeiten 2025” (announced April 22, 2025).
Lunch is 11:00–14:30 and dinner is 17:30–20:00, with the last order at the closing time of each. It is closed on Wednesdays, but open on a public holiday that falls on a Wednesday. The official page’s reservation entries disagree with each other, so ask by phone before you go. The listed budget is ¥1,500–3,000 for lunch and ¥2,000–7,000 for dinner; menu prices are Not stated. It has 50 parking spaces and 70 seats, including terrace tables. Credit cards and PayPay are accepted; electronic money is not.
Getting there: take the Yufuin-go bus from Tenjin to Yufuin Ekimae (about 2 hours 25 minutes). The official page gives about 10 minutes by car from JR Yufuin Station.
View this post on Instagram
Address: 893-1 Kawakita, Yufuin-machi, Yufu City. Phone: 0977-85-4007. Google Maps
9. Tenjo Sajiki (茶房 天井棧敷): a cafe at Kamenoi Bessou
Yufu City (Yufuin)
A cafe on the grounds of the inn Kamenoi Bessou, in a relocated late-Edo-period sake brewery building, according to the inn’s page. Tabelog lists it in “Kissaten (Coffee Shops) Hyakumeiten 2026” (announced June 23, 2026).
The page lists 9:00–17:00, irregular closed days about twice a year and 30 seats. Prices: Not stated. Reservations: Not stated. The page lists the seat count for the cafe and the bar together.
Getting there: take the Yufuin-go bus from Tenjin to Yufuin Ekimae (about 2 hours 25 minutes). The inn’s access page gives about 5 minutes by taxi or about 25 minutes on foot from the station area. The page does not mention parking.
Address: 2633-1 Kawakami, Yufuin-machi, Yufu City (Kamenoi Bessou). Phone: 0977-85-2866. Google Maps
10. JIMGU (ENOWA YUFUIN): dinner in three seatings
Yufu City (Yufuin)
The restaurant of the inn ENOWA YUFUIN. It won Bronze in The Tabelog Award 2026 and is in “Creative and Innovative Hyakumeiten 2025” (announced May 27, 2025).
Dinner starts at 17:30, 18:00 or 18:30 and takes 2.5 to 3 hours. A notice posted on October 20, 2024 says people who are not staying can book the restaurant alone through the OMAKASE reservation site. That notice lists an omakase course at ¥27,500 per person (tax included, plus 10% service) and says children must be 13 or older and able to eat the same course. It says prices vary with the season, and the current official page does not list prices, so check on the booking site. For gluten-free, halal or many allergies, the notice says to contact the restaurant first.
Getting there: take the Yufuin-go bus from Tenjin to Yufuin Ekimae (about 2 hours 25 minutes). Directions to the inn are on the official ENOWA site.
View this post on Instagram
Address: 544 Maruo, Kawakami, Yufuin-machi, Yufu City. Phone: 0977-28-8310. The number is the inn’s front desk. Google Maps
11. Okinadaruma (杵築 翁達磨): hand-made soba
Kitsuki City
A soba restaurant in Moe, Kitsuki. Tabelog lists it in “Soba WEST Hyakumeiten 2025” (announced July 23, 2025).
Cold soba (morisoba) and rustic soba (inaka soba) are ¥950, the two-color soba is ¥1,000 and the three-color soba is ¥1,200. Lunch is 11:00–15:00; the regular closed day is Monday (Tuesday if Monday is a public holiday). The shop’s notice lists October 2026 closed days as the 5th, 13th, 19th and 26th. Only the evening course (¥8,800, 8 dishes plus soba and dessert, 2-hour limit) takes reservations, and payment is cash only. Book by phone or the form on the website. Cancelling on the day costs 100% of the course, and arriving 15 minutes late without notice counts as a no-show. There are 7 parking spaces. The official site is in Japanese only.
Getting there: from Beppu Kitahama bus stop, take the bus toward Kunisaki to the “Moe” (守江) stop, then walk about 15 minutes. The site also lists JR Kitsuki Station on the Nippo Line.
Address: 2114-25 Moe, Kitsuki City. Phone: 0978-63-8124. Google Maps
12. Miyako Hamburg (都ハンバーグ): lunch-only hamburg steak
Oita City
A hamburg-steak shop in the Miyakomachi entertainment district. Tabelog lists it in “Yoshoku WEST Hyakumeiten 2025” (announced June 24, 2025), its first selection.
The charcoal-grilled free-range chicken hamburg steak set is ¥1,100 including tax, with free refills of rice and chicken-broth soup. A “mega” chicken tempura set is also ¥1,100, and the kids’ set is ¥500. The shop does not take reservations and is cash only. It is open 11:30–14:30 (last order 14:00), closed on Mondays, and may close early when the food runs out. This information is from the shop’s Instagram.
Getting there: take the Sonic from Hakata to Oita Station (fastest 2 hours 1 minute), or the Toyokuni-go super non-stop bus from Tenjin to Oita (Tokiwa-mae) (2 hours 30 minutes).
View this post on Instagram
Address: Shinwa Building 2F, 1-1-5 Miyakomachi, Oita City. Google Maps
13. Yamadaya Usuki Main Shop (臼杵ふぐ 山田屋 臼杵本店): fugu in a castle town
Usuki City
A fugu (pufferfish) restaurant. It won Bronze in The Tabelog Award 2026.
Fugu courses (for 2 or more) are ¥14,520 for 6 dishes and ¥19,360 for 8 dishes, with tax and service included. The lunch-only “mini course” is ¥11,495, and a lunch set meal at ¥5,445 is sold May to October, limited to 20 a day. The set meal needs a reservation by the previous day and at least 2 people. Hours are 11:30–15:00 (last order 13:30) and 17:00–21:30 (last order 19:30); it is closed on Tuesdays. Book by phone. Cancelling the day before costs 50% of the food charge, and on the day 100%. Credit cards are accepted.
Getting there: take the Sonic to Oita Station, then the JR Nippo Line to Usuki Station. The official page gives a 5-minute walk from the station, or 10 minutes by car from Usuki IC, with 12 spaces opposite the restaurant.
View this post on Instagram
Address: 2-107-152 Usuki, Usuki City. Phone: 0972-62-9145. Google Maps
14. Yakiniku Itou (焼肉井とう): near Saiki Station
Saiki City
A yakiniku (grilled meat) restaurant. It won Bronze in The Tabelog Award 2026 and is in “Yakiniku WEST Hyakumeiten 2025” (announced October 15, 2025).
The shop’s Instagram lists 17:30–22:00 on weekdays and 17:00–22:00 on weekends and holidays, and points to a business calendar for closed days. The restaurant’s website still says it is closed on Tuesdays and shows a different opening time, so check the calendar before you go. The Instagram profile points to online booking, and the website lists a phone number. Menu prices: Not stated on the pages checked. The website lists a dedicated car park of 14 spaces.
Getting there: take the Sonic to Oita Station, then the JR Nippo Line to Saiki Station. The website gives a 3-minute walk from the station.
View this post on Instagram
Address: 2-2-17 Ekimae, Saiki City. Phone: 0972-24-3425. Google Maps
15. Yamasa Ryokan (料亭 やまさ旅館): soft-shelled turtle cuisine
Usa City (Ajimu)
A restaurant-inn serving suppon (soft-shelled turtle). It won Bronze in The Tabelog Award 2026.
You can eat here without staying. Lunch is 11:00–15:00 (last order 14:30) and dinner is 17:00–21:00 (last order 20:30). The weekday-only lunch set is ¥3,800 (tax and service included), and lunch courses start at ¥6,050. The “Bimi Kyushin” course is ¥13,000 (tax and service extra). The inn asks for reservations because dishes take time, and takes same-day bookings by phone (lines open 10:00–21:00). Cancelling up to the day before is free; same-day cancellation costs half, and a no-show costs the full price. There are 20 parking spaces.
Getting there: the official page shows taking the Sonic from Hakata to JR Yanagigaura, then about 25 minutes by taxi. By car it is about 5 minutes from Ajimu IC.
View this post on Instagram
Address: 1785 Shimoge, Ajimu-machi, Usa City. Phone: 0120-393-803. Google Maps
16. How were the restaurants chosen?
Depends on the provider
The restaurants come from Tabelog’s official Hyakumeiten pages for Oita Prefecture and from the Silver and Bronze lists of The Tabelog Award 2026. Tabelog scores change daily, so this guide does not use scores, reviews or rankings, only the year and genre of each selection. Restaurants with no official site or social account, or ones we could not confirm are still open, were left out.
Hours, prices and closed days change, so check each restaurant’s official site or Instagram before you travel. Where an official page does not say, this guide says “Not stated”.
Common questions
Which restaurants take no reservations?
Miyako Hamburg says it does not take reservations. Okinadaruma takes bookings only for its evening course. Atelier and Hirokado require reservations.
Which restaurants are cash only?
Okinadaruma and Miyako Hamburg say they take cash only. Kunuginooka accepts credit cards and PayPay, and Yamadaya accepts credit cards. The other pages do not state payment methods.
Is there an English menu or English booking?
Somuri’s website has an English version. The other official pages checked do not say whether English menus or English service are available.
Can I bring children?
Atelier does not allow children aged 12 and under. JIMGU’s notice says children must be 13 or older. Hirokado asks that children be of elementary school age or older and eat the same course. Other pages do not state a policy.
Next steps
Sources (checked October 2026)
- Tabelog Hyakumeiten (Japanese) and its genre pages filtered to Oita; The Tabelog Award 2026 Silver and Bronze lists
- JR Kyushu: Sonic, Hakata to Oita and Beppu (Japanese); Nishitetsu Toyokuni-go and Yufuin-go (Japanese)
- Official pages: Somuri, GENOVA Instagram and online shop notice, Atelier, Hirokado and its booking page, B-speak, Kunuginooka, Tenjo Sajiki, JIMGU and its October 2024 notice, Okinadaruma, Miyako Hamburg Instagram, Yamadaya, Itou and Instagram, Yamasa Ryokan (all Japanese). The Instagram posts and the Atelier video embedded above are each restaurant’s own; the Tenjo Sajiki and Okinadaruma videos are by members of the public.