PR: This article contains affiliate links. If you book a stay through a link marked “(ad)”, we may receive a commission. The order of the inns and what we write about them do not depend on this.
You live in Kumamoto or Fukuoka and want a night at a hot spring inn (ryokan, 旅館), but you are not sure which one takes English bookings, lets you use a private bath, or can handle your food needs. This guide covers ten inns in seven onsen areas of Kyushu. Every fact comes from the inn’s own website. When an inn does not say something, we write “Not stated”.
In short
- Shortest times the inns give: Ureshino is about 1 hour 15 minutes by car from Fukuoka, and Aso Uchinomaki about 70 minutes by car from the Kumamoto Interchange (section 1).
- Two of the ten inns state a tattoo rule: Suginoi Hotel does not allow guests with tattoos in its large open-air bath, Tanayu, and Kirishima Hotel does not allow them in its baths. The others do not say, so ask before you book (section 2).
- Eight inns list private baths you can book or rooms with their own bath. Kirishima Hotel and Ibusuki Hakusuikan say they have no family bath.
- Ibusuki Hakusuikan says it cannot serve vegan or halal meals. Ryokan Sanga offers a meal without animal ingredients if you book a week ahead.
Checked with official pages on September 28, 2026.
| Inn (area) | Private bath | In English |
|---|---|---|
| Suginoi Hotel (Beppu) | 5, paid | Booking page |
| Yufuin Hoteiya (Yufuin) | 2, free | Translated website |
| Ryokan Sanga (Kurokawa) | 3, guests only | Website, booking |
| Oyado Noshiyu (Kurokawa) | 5, guests only | Translated website |
| Sozankyo (Aso) | 2, free | Some staff |
| Unzen Fukudaya (Unzen) | 2, free | Website, booking |
| Iseya (Obama) | In room, family bath | Website, booking |
| Wataya Bessou (Ureshino) | Yes | Website, booking |
| Kirishima Hotel (Kirishima) | No family bath | Website, booking |
| Ibusuki Hakusuikan (Ibusuki) | No family bath | Website, booking |
“In English” means what the inn’s own website offers: an English website, an English booking page, or staff who speak English. “Translated website” means the site has a machine-translated English version. “Private bath” means baths you can book for your group (kashikiri-buro, 貸切風呂) or baths in your room.
1. How long does it take to get to each onsen area?
Depends on the inn
These times are the ones the inns give on their access pages, plus the train timetable of JR Kyushu. The inns give times from different starting points (a station, an airport or an interchange), so check your own route before you book.
- Beppu (Oita Prefecture). From Hakata Station about 1 hour 50 minutes by limited express to Beppu Station, then about 10 minutes by taxi or the hotel’s free shuttle bus. By car, Tosu Junction to Beppu Interchange takes 1 hour 40 minutes (Suginoi Hotel).
- Yufuin (Oita Prefecture). The limited express “Yufuin no Mori” takes a little over 2 hours from Hakata (for example, 9:17 from Hakata, 11:31 at Yufuin). JR Kyushu says it does not run on some days from October because of train checks; on those days the limited express “Yufu” runs at the same times.
- Kurokawa Onsen (Kumamoto Prefecture). About 2 hours 30 minutes from Fukuoka Airport and 2 hours from Aso Kumamoto Airport (Oyado Noshiyu). A direct highway bus runs between Fukuoka and Kurokawa Onsen (Ryokan Sanga).
- Aso Uchinomaki (Kumamoto Prefecture). About 70 minutes by car from the Kumamoto Interchange on Route 57 by way of the Milk Road (Sozankyo).
- Unzen and Obama (Nagasaki Prefecture). Unzen Fukudaya’s access page links to Kumamoto Ferry. Its “Ocean Arrow” ferry sails between Kumamoto Port and Shimabara Port, first leaving Kumamoto at 7:30. The last sailing is 16:40, or 18:30 on weekends and holidays from April to December.
- Ureshino (Saga Prefecture). From Fukuoka about 1 hour 15 minutes by car, about 1 hour 50 minutes by highway bus, or about 1 hour 40 minutes by JR to Takeo Onsen plus a JR bus (Wataya Bessou).
- Ibusuki and Kirishima (Kagoshima Prefecture). From Hakata, 1 hour 19 minutes by Kyushu Shinkansen to Kagoshima-Chuo, 1 hour on the JR Ibusuki Makurazaki Line, then 7 minutes by taxi (Ibusuki Hakusuikan). Kirishima Hotel is 40 minutes by bus from Kagoshima Airport.
From Kumamoto Station and Hakata by public transport, these are the times on the bus and train timetables (examples of one morning departure each).
| Onsen area | From Kumamoto Station | From Hakata |
|---|---|---|
| Kurokawa Onsen | Bus, 2 h 52 min (7:23 to 10:15) | Bus, 2 h 36 min (9:53 to 12:29) |
| Yufuin | Bus, 4 h 25 min (7:23 to 11:48) | Train, 2 h 14 min (9:17 to 11:31) |
| Beppu | Bus, 5 h 21 min (12:08 to 17:29) | Train, about 1 h 50 min |
| Aso Station | Bus, 1 h 51 min (7:23 to 9:14) | Not stated |
The buses from Kumamoto Station are the Kyushu Odan Bus (九州横断バス) of Kyushu Sanko Bus; seats on most sections must be reserved. The bus from Hakata is the Fukuoka to Kurokawa Onsen express bus, which leaves from Hakata Bus Terminal and needs a seat reservation. Both companies showed these routes as running normally when we checked.
Note
After the Kumamoto earthquake of July 28, 2026, Ryokan Sanga posted that it had no major damage and was open as usual, and that Kurokawa Onsen as a whole was operating normally. It asked guests to check roads and public transport before leaving. Iseya (on its website) and Unzen Fukudaya (on its Instagram) also posted that they were open as usual. See our guide to earthquakes and typhoons in Kumamoto.
2. What should I check before I book?
Depends on the inn
Rules for tattoos, food and children are different at every inn. If an inn’s website does not answer your question, ask the inn before you pay, not on the day.
- Tattoos. Suginoi Hotel’s page for its large open-air bath, Tanayu, says guests with tattoos may not use it. Kirishima Hotel’s English page says tattooed guests may not use its baths. The other eight inns do not state a rule on their websites. A private bath or a room with its own bath may be an option; ask the inn.
- Food needs. Most inns ask you to tell them about allergies when you book or by the day before. Suginoi Hotel says it cannot take allergy requests on the day of your stay.
- Private baths. Some inns take bookings only on the day, at check-in (Suginoi Hotel, Ryokan Sanga, Sozankyo).
- Children. Most rooms at Oyado Noshiyu are for adults only. Children’s rates are listed by Ryokan Sanga and Iseya.
Important
Allergy menus are not the same as allergy-free kitchens. Suginoi Hotel, Kirishima Hotel and Iseya each say they cannot fully keep allergens out of their food.
3. Beppu
3.1 Suginoi Hotel (杉乃井ホテル)
Depends on the inn
A hotel in Beppu run by ORIX Hotels & Resorts. It has open-air baths, a set of five private baths and a water park called Aquabeat. The site lists Aquabeat as open until November 1, 2026.

Photo source: Aquabeat opening for 2026 (ORIX Hotel Management press release, February 3, 2026, in Japanese)
- In English: the hotel’s booking system has an English version. Phone lines in English are not stated.
- Private baths: “Oita Goyu” (大分伍湯), five private baths, 11:00 to 24:00. You can book them only on the day, at the Tanayu counter on the 2nd floor of Suginoi Palace (last booking 21:00). ¥4,100 to ¥6,500 for 60 minutes.
- Food needs: the Japanese restaurant “Sai” handles only the eight specified allergens (shrimp, crab, walnut, wheat, buckwheat, egg, milk and peanut), with a set meal that does not use them. Tell the hotel before your stay. You may bring allergen-free food and your own tableware. Vegetarian and halal meals: Not stated.
- Tattoos: the page for Tanayu, the large open-air bath, says guests with tattoos may not enter or use it. For the private baths: Not stated.
Suginoi Hotel: 1 Kankaiji, Beppu City, Oita Prefecture. Google Maps. Reservation center (9:00 to 19:00): 0977-78-8888.
Check rates for Suginoi Hotel on Agoda (ad)![]()
4. Yufuin
4.1 Yufuin Hoteiya (湯布院ほてい屋)
Depends on the inn
An inn with detached rooms in Yufuin, with a large open-air bath facing Mt. Yufu. If you call after you arrive at Yufuin Station or the bus center in front of it, the inn says it usually picks you up in 7 to 10 minutes.
View this post on Instagram
- In English: the website has a machine-translated English version. English-speaking staff: Not stated.
- Private baths: two, “Hotei no Yu” (indoor) and “Yufudake no Yu” (with a view of Mt. Yufu). They are free for 40 minutes, and you can use one whenever it is empty. Hours are 15:00 to 23:00 and 6:00 to 9:00. The inn also has rooms with their own open-air bath.
- Food needs: Not stated on the official site.
- Tattoos: Not stated on the official site.
Yufuin Hoteiya: 1414 Kawakami, Yufuin-machi, Yufu City, Oita Prefecture. Google Maps. Phone: 0977-84-2900.
Check rates for Yufuin Hoteiya on Agoda (ad)![]()
5. Kurokawa Onsen
5.1 Ryokan Sanga (旅館 山河)
Depends on the inn
A ryokan in the forest along a mountain stream at Kurokawa Onsen, with two hot spring sources of its own. It has an English website with room rates, and an English online booking page.
View this post on Instagram
- In English: you can book by phone or email. The inn says its English-speaking staff are sometimes out, so it asks you to email in that case.
- Private baths: three for staying guests (Rokushaku-oke, Hinoki and Kiriishi). They cannot be booked in advance; you ask on the day you check in. Several rooms have their own stone bath or open-air bath.
- Food needs: the English page asks you to tell the inn about food restrictions as early as possible. The Japanese page offers a “macrobiotic kaiseki” without animal ingredients or chemical seasonings if you book it at least one week ahead.
- Price: the English page lists rates from ¥23,250 per person per night with dinner and breakfast (a standard room in the main building shared by two or more; ¥29,850 for one person; tax and bathing tax included). Rates change by season. Children aged 7 to 12 pay 50% or 70% of the adult rate, and children 2 and under are free.
- Tattoos: Not stated on the official site.
If you come by public bus from JR Aso Station (50 minutes to Kurokawa Onsen bus stop), tell the inn your arrival time before you get on; it collects you at the bus stop. Ryokan Sanga: 6961-1 Manganji, Minamioguni-machi, Aso-gun, Kumamoto Prefecture. Google Maps. Phone: 0967-44-0906.
Check rates for Ryokan Sanga on Agoda (ad)![]()
5.2 Oyado Noshiyu (お宿 のし湯)
Depends on the inn
An inn at Kurokawa Onsen whose baths the owners built by hand. It has five private baths for staying guests, including two indoor family baths.
- In English: the website has a machine-translated English version. English-speaking staff: Not stated.
- Children: most room types are for adults only, and the inn does not take children, including babies, in those rooms. Only two detached rooms, “Azami” and “Shion”, do not carry this note. Check the room type when you book.
- Closed days: December 8 to 10 and December 31, 2026, and January 1 and 2, 2027.
- Food needs: Not stated on the official site.
- Tattoos: Not stated on the official site.
Oyado Noshiyu: 6591-1 Manganji, Minamioguni-machi, Aso-gun, Kumamoto Prefecture. Google Maps. Phone: 0967-44-0308.
Check rates for Oyado Noshiyu on Agoda (ad)![]()
6. Aso Uchinomaki
6.1 Sozankyo (蘇山郷)
Depends on the inn
A ryokan in Uchinomaki Onsen in Aso City. The inn’s own video below shows the building and baths (in Japanese).
- In English: the inn says some of its staff can help you in English.
- Private baths: two, a covered open-air bath and a semi-open barrel bath (“Taru-yu”). They are free for staying guests, but you book them at check-in, after you choose your dinner time.
- Getting there: the inn has no pick-up service. From JR Aso Station, it is about 10 minutes by taxi or about 15 minutes by Kyushu Sanko bus.
- Food needs: Not stated on the official site.
- Tattoos: Not stated on the official site.
Sozankyo: 145 Uchinomaki, Aso City, Kumamoto Prefecture. Google Maps. Phone: 0967-32-0515.
Check rates for Sozankyo on Agoda (ad)![]()
7. Unzen and Obama
7.1 Unzen Fukudaya (雲仙福田屋)
Depends on the inn
An inn at Unzen Onsen with a main building and an annex, “Yamaterasu Bettei”. It has an English website; its “Reservation” button goes to JAPANiCAN, a travel booking site in English.
- Private baths: two rental baths, “Hinoki no Yu” and “Santarou no Yu”. They are free for staying guests, for 50 minutes. Some annex rooms have a small open-air bath in a garden.
- Day visitors: the rental baths cost ¥1,500 per adult, half price for children and free under 3.
- Food needs: Not stated on the official site.
- Tattoos: Not stated on the official site.
Unzen Fukudaya: 380-2 Unzen, Obama-machi, Unzen City, Nagasaki Prefecture. Google Maps. Phone: 0957-73-2151.
Check rates for Unzen Fukudaya on Agoda (ad)![]()
7.2 Iseya (海を見渡す個室露天の宿 伊勢屋)
Depends on the inn
An inn at Obama Onsen facing Tachibana Bay. Every room has a sea view and a private bath. It has an English website and an English booking page. The inn’s own video below shows its annex, sushi bar and café (in Japanese).
- Private baths: the baths in the annex rooms (“UMIKARA”, 4 minutes by car from the main building) are not hot spring water; the hot spring is in the main building. The family baths are listed with the day-visit baths: ¥3,000 per group for 1 hour (tax included), 11:00 to 19:00 (reception until 18:00), advance booking required.
- Food needs: tell the inn about allergies by the day before. It says it will do its best, but it cannot promise allergen-free food.
- Children: a children’s menu is available from toddlers to 6th grade. Children’s rates: ¥11,000 with bedding, ¥3,850 without bedding, and free when sharing a bed with no meal (tax included). Under Nagasaki Prefecture rules, children about 7 and over cannot enter the bath for the opposite sex.
- Price: per person with two meals, for two people in a room (tax included): Standard rooms from ¥18,150, and the annex “Ocean Suite” from ¥24,200.
- Tattoos: Not stated on the official site.
Iseya: 905 Kitahonmachi, Obama-machi, Unzen City, Nagasaki Prefecture. Google Maps. Phone: 0957-74-2121.
Check rates for Iseya on Agoda (ad)![]()
8. Ureshino
8.1 Wataya Bessou (和多屋別荘)
Depends on the inn
An inn at Ureshino Onsen in Saga Prefecture. It has an English website with an English booking form. On April 1, 2026, it opened a pharmacy inside the inn, “Yakuhakudo”, for health advice during your stay.


Photo source: Yakuhakudo pharmacy opens inside the inn (Wataya Bessou press release, April 1, 2026, in Japanese)
- Private baths: the English page lists a chartered bath among its baths, all fed from its own hot spring.
- Day bathing: 14:00 to 21:00 (last entry 20:00), ¥1,300 for adults and ¥700 for elementary school children, free for younger children. On the 2nd and 4th Wednesday of each month the baths open at 17:30.
- Getting there: the inn gives about 1 hour 15 minutes by car from Fukuoka. See section 1 for the bus and train.
- Food needs: Not stated on the official site.
- Tattoos: Not stated on the official site.
Wataya Bessou: 738 Shimojuku-otsu, Ureshino-machi, Ureshino City, Saga Prefecture. Google Maps. Phone (9:00 to 17:00, not Sundays or holidays): 0954-42-0210.
Check rates for Wataya Bessou on Agoda (ad)![]()
9. Kirishima and Ibusuki
9.1 Kirishima Hotel (霧島ホテル)
Depends on the inn
A hotel at Kirishima Onsen in Kagoshima Prefecture, with baths of several spring types. It has an English website and an English booking page.
- Tattoos: the English page says tattooed guests may not use the baths.
- Private baths: the inn says it has no family bath.
- Food needs: the inn prepares meals for food allergies if you tell it when you book or by the day before. Its kitchen is not fully separated. Vegetarian and halal meals: Not stated.
- Getting there: the hotel has no regular pick-up service. If you come by bus, get off at Iodani (硫黄谷) and call from the free phone at the stop; the hotel will come for you.
Kirishima Hotel: 3948 Takachiho, Makizono-cho, Kirishima City, Kagoshima Prefecture. Google Maps. Phone: 0995-78-2121.
Check rates for Kirishima Hotel on Agoda (ad)![]()
9.2 Ibusuki Hakusuikan (指宿白水館)
Depends on the inn
A ryokan in Ibusuki with a sand bath (sunamushi, 砂むし), where you are covered in warm sand. It has an English website and an English booking page, and a free shuttle bus from the west exit of JR Ibusuki Station.


Photo source: Special room “Kinko no Ma” (Ibusuki Hakusuikan press release, July 13, 2026, in Japanese)
- Food needs: the inn says it cannot serve vegan or halal meals. It handles food allergies as far as it can; tell it the details when you book.
- Children: a children’s meal is available (a Western-style plate). Change to it by phone at the reservation center, 0993-23-3898. Children’s yukata come in sizes for 100 to 130 cm.
- Private baths: the inn says it has no family bath.
- Tattoos: Not stated on the official site.
Ibusuki Hakusuikan: 12126-12 Higashikata, Ibusuki City, Kagoshima Prefecture. Google Maps. Phone: 0993-22-3131.
Check rates for Ibusuki Hakusuikan on Agoda (ad)![]()
Common questions
Can I bring my own allergy-safe food?
Suginoi Hotel says guests with allergies may bring safe food, such as allergen-free pouch meals, and their own tableware.
Can my child go into the bath with a parent of the other sex?
Iseya explains that Nagasaki Prefecture rules limit this for children about 7 years old and over.
Can I stay longer on the day I leave?
Ibusuki Hakusuikan lets you extend check-out until 12:00 for ¥2,500 per room per hour (before tax). Tell Hakusuikan in advance or at the front desk on the day. Iseya extends by up to 2 hours for ¥3,000 per hour (tax included); tell it by check-in.
Do the inns pick me up at the station?
Yufuin Hoteiya picks you up from Yufuin Station when you call. Ryokan Sanga collects you at the Kurokawa Onsen bus stop if you tell it your arrival time. Sozankyo and Kirishima Hotel have no pick-up service.
Next steps
- Flying out of Kumamoto? Getting to and from Aso Kumamoto Airport
- Leaving from Fukuoka? Getting around Fukuoka City
- Before a trip after the July earthquake: Earthquakes and typhoons in Kumamoto
Sources (checked September 2026)
- Suginoi Hotel: access, Tanayu open-air bath, private baths “Oita Goyu”, food allergies (Japanese)
- JR Kyushu: limited express Yufuin no Mori (Japanese)
- Kyushu Sanko Bus: Kyushu Odan Bus timetable, Fukuoka to Kurokawa Onsen express bus timetable (Japanese)
- Yufuin Hoteiya: baths, English (machine-translated), facilities (Japanese)
- Ryokan Sanga (English), baths, cuisine, earthquake notice, July 29, 2026
- Oyado Noshiyu: access, baths, rooms, closed days (Japanese)
- Sozankyo: questions, access, guide (Japanese)
- Unzen Fukudaya: hot spring (English), access, notice after the earthquake (Instagram, July 30, 2026)
- Kumamoto Ferry: timetable and fares (Japanese)
- Iseya (English), rooms, notice after the earthquake (Japanese), baths, restaurant, questions (Japanese)
- Wataya Bessou (English), hot springs, day bathing (Japanese)
- Kirishima Hotel (English), questions (Japanese)
- Ibusuki Hakusuikan (English), questions, access (Japanese)

