LiveKumamoto

Bank accounts in Kumamoto City, Kikuyo Town and Ozu Town: Higo Bank, Kumamoto Bank, mega banks and online banks compared, and how to open one

Bank accounts in Kumamoto City, Kikuyo Town and Ozu Town: Higo Bank, Kumamoto Bank, mega banks and online banks compared, and how to open one
IllustrationKONOMACHI-note

Where foreign residents in Kumamoto City, Kikuyo Town and Ozu Town can open a bank account, the rules, fees and branches, and what to bring to the counter.


This page is general information from the banks’ official pages. It is not financial advice. Each bank decides whether to open an account for you. For your own case, ask the bank.

If you have just started work in Kumamoto City, Kikuyo Town or Ozu Town, your salary, rent and phone bill will all need a Japanese bank account. This guide compares the two Kumamoto-based banks, Higo Bank and Kumamoto Bank, with the mega banks, Japan Post Bank and three online-first banks. It lists branches near you, who can apply, the fees, and what to expect at the counter. All facts come from each bank’s official pages. When a bank does not say something, we write “Not stated”.

In short

  • Higo Bank asks foreign residents to apply at a branch near home or work. Kumamoto Bank’s web sign-up is for Japanese nationals only (sections 1, 5 and 6).
  • Higo Bank has an account guide in English and six other languages, and its personal internet banking can be shown in English (section 5).
  • In your first 6 months in Japan, some banks limit what you can do or ask for proof of work (section 2).
  • With less than 3 months left on your period of stay (3 months or less at Japan Post Bank), several banks ask you to renew your residence card first (section 2).
  • After the July 28, 2026 earthquake, check the bank’s notices before you go. Kumamoto Bank says all its branches had reopened by August 31 (section 6).

Checked with official pages on September 27, 2026.

1. Where are the branches near me?

Depends on the bank

Higo Bank and Kumamoto Bank ask you to open an account at a branch near your home or workplace. The table lists one branch per bank in Kumamoto City, and the Higo Bank and Kumamoto Bank branches in Kikuyo Town and Ozu Town. Counters are open on weekdays only. Use each bank’s branch search for other branches.

Branch Address and counter hours Phone Map
Higo Bank Head Office
肥後銀行 本店営業部
1 Renpeicho, Chuo Ward, Kumamoto City. 9:00–15:00 096-325-2111 Google Maps
Higo Bank Kikuyo Branch
肥後銀行 菊陽支店
2421-3 Tsukure, Kikuyo Town. 9:00–15:00 096-232-6111 Google Maps
Higo Bank Ozu Branch
肥後銀行 大津支店
213-1 Muro, Ozu Town. 9:00–15:00 096-293-3131 Google Maps
Kumamoto Bank Head Office
熊本銀行 本店営業部
6-29-20 Suizenji, Chuo Ward, Kumamoto City. 9:00–15:00 096-385-1112 Google Maps
Kumamoto Bank Ozu Branch
熊本銀行 大津支店
261-7 Muro, Ozu Town. 9:00–15:00 096-293-3251 Google Maps
Japan Post Bank Kumamoto Branch
ゆうちょ銀行 熊本支店
1-1 Jotomachi, Chuo Ward, Kumamoto City. Savings counter 9:00–16:00 0570-080-650 (paid Navi Dial) Google Maps
MUFG Bank Kumamoto Branch
三菱UFJ銀行 熊本支店
Nippon Life Kumamoto Building 5F, 5-1 Karashimacho, Chuo Ward, Kumamoto City. 9:00–11:30 and 12:30–15:00 Not listed
inquiry page
Google Maps
Mizuho Bank Kumamoto Branch
みずほ銀行 熊本支店
3-8 Hanabatacho, Chuo Ward, Kumamoto City. 9:00–15:00 Not listed Google Maps

The Kikuyo and Ozu branch numbers of Higo Bank connect to its phone reception center. Kumamoto Bank’s branch numbers start with automated guidance. MUFG Bank’s Kumamoto Branch closes its counters from 11:30 to 12:30 for lunch.

2. Can I apply, and how?

Depends on the bank

Each bank name links to its official page. These links are not ads.

Bank Rules on your time in Japan How foreign residents apply Help in English
Higo Bank Not stated. The bank checks foreign customers’ residence card details after opening, too Branch near home or work. The Hugmeg app sign-up is for Japanese nationals only English account guide; personal internet banking in English and Chinese (Traditional)
Kumamoto Bank Not stated Branch near home or work. Web sign-up: Japanese nationals only. Seven Bank ATM sign-up: needs a My Number Card Not stated
MUFG Bank Under 6 months and not working: treated as a non-resident, with limits. 4 months or less left: renew first Branch only. The app sign-up is not for foreign nationals Machine translation for some internet banking steps
SMBC An SMBC leaflet says: in principle 6 months since the permission date on your card, and 3 months or more left App or branch, with a residence card App main screens in English. Call center and chat: Japanese only
Mizuho Bank Less than 3 months left: not accepted. Online, under 6 months since entry: an employee ID, or a copy of your previous residence card Online or branch, both in Japanese only App can be switched to English
Japan Post Bank Must be more than 3 months until the end of your stay App (Yucho Tetsuzuki App) or a Japan Post Bank / post office counter App in English, Chinese (Simplified) and Vietnamese
SBI Shinsei Bank Under 6 months since entry and not working in Japan: cannot open By post only, with an English application form English internet banking and web forms; no English phone support
Sony Bank 6 months or more in Japan Web application with documents by post English help desk by chat and email
Seven Bank 3 months or more left. Online, under 6 months in Japan: proof of employment Online, or at a Seven Bank ATM with only your residence card English pages; ATM screens in 9 languages; multilingual contact center

Important

Residence cards issued on or after June 14, 2026. Mizuho Bank’s online sign-up and Seven Bank’s ATM and online sign-ups cannot use residence cards issued on or after June 14, 2026. Seven Bank’s ATM page says this applies “at this time”. At Mizuho, a branch counter is the other route for the new cards, and the branch may also ask for your passport or a copy of your residence record.

3. What fees will I pay?

Depends on the bank

Note

These are the standard fees on each bank’s fee page. Point programs, salary deposits or member stages can make some of them free. All amounts include tax.

Bank Transfer fee to another bank (online) ATM fee at the bank’s own ATMs Account maintenance fee
Higo Bank ¥330 (to Higo Bank and Kagoshima Bank accounts: free) Free 8:45–18:00 on weekdays; ¥110 early morning, evening, weekends and holidays (fees) Unused account fee ¥1,320 a year
Kumamoto Bank ¥220 under ¥30,000; ¥440 from ¥30,000 (app or internet banking) ¥110 before 8:45 and after 18:00 on weekdays, and on weekends and holidays (fees) Unused account fee ¥1,320 a year
MUFG Bank ¥154 under ¥30,000; ¥220 from ¥30,000 Free 8:45–21:00; ¥110 at other times Paper passbook ¥550 a year (accounts from April 2022); unused 2 years or more: ¥1,320 a year (accounts from July 2021)
SMBC ¥154 under ¥30,000; ¥220 from ¥30,000; Olive accounts get some free each month Free 8:45–18:00 on weekdays; ¥110 at other times Paper passbook ¥550 a year (accounts from April 2021); Olive accounts unused 2 years or more: ¥1,100 a year, with exceptions
Mizuho Bank ¥110 No fee 8:45–18:00 on weekdays; ¥110–¥220 at other times, weekends and holidays Paper passbook ¥1,100 each time one is issued or renewed
Japan Post Bank ¥165; to Japan Post Bank accounts free 5 times a month Free at all hours at most ATMs in post offices and branches, except for coins Not stated
SBI Shinsei Bank 1 free a month at the basic stage, then ¥214 Partner convenience store ATMs: 5 free withdrawals a month at the basic stage, then ¥110 None
Sony Bank 1 free a month (2 with Sony Bank WALLET), then ¥110 Partner ATMs: 4 free withdrawals a month, then ¥110 None
Seven Bank ¥165 (app) Free 7:00–19:00; ¥110 at other times Unused 2 years or more: ¥1,320 a year, with exceptions

4. Can I send money abroad or receive it?

Depends on the bank

Besides the international remittance fee, the bank changes the money at its own rate, which includes an exchange-rate markup. Other banks along the way may also take fees. Higo Bank and Kumamoto Bank handle overseas remittances at branches after an online pre-application.

Bank International remittance fee (sending abroad) Fee when you receive money from abroad
Higo Bank ¥7,500 (branch, after pre-application) ¥1,500 at the counter. A remittance kept in the same currency, including yen, adds 0.05% (at least ¥2,500)
Kumamoto Bank Not stated on the pages we checked. All branches except sub-branches take it, from 3 business days after pre-application Not stated on the pages we checked
MUFG Bank ¥3,000 online; ¥7,000 at a counter ¥1,500 for a foreign-currency remittance into a yen account
SMBC ¥3,500 online; ¥7,500 at a counter ¥1,500; a remittance in yen adds 0.05% (at least ¥2,500)
Mizuho Bank ¥5,000 in the app; ¥8,500 at a branch ¥2,500
Japan Post Bank ¥3,000 (online service) US dollars or euros only; the intermediary bank deducts $10 or €5 for amounts over $100 or €100
SBI Shinsei Bank No overseas remittance in the commission table ¥2,000 for yen; other currencies have a fee in that currency, such as US$13
Sony Bank ¥3,000, from a foreign currency account ¥0 (banks along the way may take fees)
Seven Bank Western Union service; from ¥400 for up to ¥10,000 Not stated

Bringing money into Japan is compared in How to send or bring money to Japan.

5. Higo Bank

Higo Bank

Higo Bank (肥後銀行) is based in Kumamoto City. It says foreign customers cannot apply in its app and should go to the counter of a branch near their home or workplace. Its page for foreign residents lists two things to bring: a seal or a handwritten signature, and your residence card or special permanent resident certificate. The same page links to account guides (PDF) in English, Vietnamese, Chinese, Korean, Burmese, Thai and Indonesian. Each person can have one general account.

At the counter you can choose an account with a passbook or a paperless web account; a passbook costs a fee. Higo Bank says a magnetic cash card takes about 1 week to 10 days and an IC cash card about 2 weeks, but some branches can hand one over the same day. Since October 13, 2025, Higo Bank’s personal internet banking can be switched to English or Chinese (Traditional) after you log in; some screens are not translated.

After the July 28, 2026 earthquake, Higo Bank closed some branches and ATMs for a time. Its branch update of August 10, 2026 still listed one branch as fully closed (Yatsushiro City Hall Branch), and on September 14, 2026 three ATMs outside branches were still closed. Check the bank’s notices before you go.

6. Kumamoto Bank

Kumamoto Bank

Kumamoto Bank (熊本銀行) is based in Kumamoto City. Its web sign-up is for Japanese nationals. Its sign-up at Seven Bank ATMs does not list a nationality rule, but it needs a My Number Card with its signature password and an address in Kumamoto Prefecture, in a city or town with a Kumamoto Bank branch. For a counter application, go to the branch nearest your home or workplace; the bank may ask for reasons and more documents at a branch outside Kumamoto Prefecture. Booking a visit is recommended, because without one you may wait long or not be served that day. For questions about opening an account, the bank’s phone service center is 0120-189-066 (weekdays 9:00–17:30, Japanese menu).

The bank closed some branches after the July 28, 2026 earthquake. It says all branches were open again from August 31, 2026, including Kagami Branch in a temporary office, but some ATM corners were still closed. Its Ozu Branch reopened on July 30.

7. Mega banks and Japan Post Bank in Kumamoto

Depends on the bank

  • MUFG Bank (三菱UFJ銀行): branch only for foreign nationals. Bring your residence card, a seal and a My Number document. To be treated as a resident, also bring proof that you work in Japan or have lived here 6 months or more (English page dated March 2020). With 4 months or less left on your stay, renew first.
  • SMBC (三井住友銀行): apply in the SMBC app with your residence card. The cash card arrives in 1–2 weeks.
  • Mizuho Bank (みずほ銀行): online or at a branch, in Japanese. At its Kumamoto Branch, overseas remittances are handled by video call and need a booking.
  • Japan Post Bank (ゆうちょ銀行): app in four languages, or a Japan Post Bank or post office counter. Students and technical intern trainees also bring a student ID or employee ID. The bank may ask you to come with someone who understands Japanese.

8. Online-first banks

Depends on the bank

SBI Shinsei Bank (SBI新生銀行) takes applications from foreign residents by post only, using a copy of the residence card and one more ID. It does not open accounts for people who entered Japan less than 6 months ago and do not work in Japan.

Sony Bank (ソニー銀行) asks foreign nationals to apply on the web and send a copy of the residence card and an original residence record by post, after 6 months in Japan. It has an English help desk by chat and email. It limits transactions if it cannot check your renewed card in time.

Seven Bank (セブン銀行) lets foreign residents aged 16 or older open an account at a new-type Seven Bank ATM with only a residence card, in Japanese or English. The cash card arrives in about two weeks. The account comes with the debit card service.

9. How do I open an account at the counter?

Depends on the bank

What to bring to the bank counter in Kumamoto: residence card, a seal or signature, a student or employee ID if needed, and anything your bank adds
  1. Register your address at your city or town office first. Banks check that your address matches your ID. See Registering your address in Kumamoto City, Kikuyo or Ozu.
  2. Check the time left on your residence card. If less than 3 months are left (3 months or less at Japan Post Bank), several banks ask you to renew first.
  3. Choose a branch near your home or workplace and book a visit. Use the table in section 1.
  4. Bring your residence card and a seal. Higo Bank also accepts a handwritten signature. Rubber stamps are not accepted at MUFG Bank or Mizuho Bank. Add what your bank asks for, such as a student or employee ID for “Student” or “Technical Intern Training” status (Mizuho Bank, Japan Post Bank).
  5. Tell the staff what the account is for. MUFG Bank, for example, says it asks what the account is for.
  6. Receive your cash card. It usually comes by post, unless your branch can hand it over the same day. Seven Bank, for example, says its card is not forwarded to a new address.

What to say

給料を受け取るための口座を作りたいです。

Kyuryo o uketoru tame no koza o tsukuritai desu.

I would like to open an account to receive my salary.

Important

Banks may refuse an application, for example when too little time is left on your stay, your address does not match your ID, or you choose a branch far from home without a reason. Selling or lending your account is a crime in Japan. Close your account before you leave Japan.

10. Common questions

Can I sign instead of using a seal?

At Higo Bank, yes: its page for foreign residents lists “seal or handwritten signature”. Other banks in this guide ask for a seal at the counter, and MUFG Bank and Mizuho Bank say rubber stamps cannot be used.

Can I get my cash card on the day I apply?

Higo Bank says some of its branches can issue a cash card on the spot. Otherwise, Higo Bank says a card takes about 1 week to 10 days (magnetic) or about 2 weeks (IC). SMBC and Seven Bank say 1–2 weeks and about 2 weeks.

Higo Bank sent me a letter about my residence card. Why?

Higo Bank says it keeps checking customer information after an account is opened, following the Financial Services Agency’s anti-money-laundering guidelines. In November 2023 it mailed foreign customers a request to confirm their latest residence card details. It said deposits, including salary, and withdrawals would in principle be limited until the customer completed the procedure. If you cannot visit a branch, it can be done by post. Sony Bank, Mizuho Bank and Japan Post Bank also ask for your new card after renewal.

How do I receive money from abroad at Higo Bank?

Give the sender Higo Bank’s English name (The Higo Bank, Ltd.), its SWIFT code HIGOJPJT, your branch name in English, your account number, and your name and address in English. Higo Bank has a ready-made guide for senders in English and Chinese on its remittance page.

Sources (checked September 2026)

A note before you go

Good information. Better decisions.

This guide brings together published information. Opening hours, fees and eligibility can change; check with the organizer before travelling or applying.