LiveFukuoka City

Mobile phone plans for foreign residents in Fukuoka City (2026)

Mobile phone plans for foreign residents in Fukuoka City (2026)
IllustrationKONOMACHI-note

Which ID, payment and time left on your stay nine mobile brands ask for, SIMs at Fukuoka Airport, and shops in Tenjin and Hakata that list help in other languages.

PR: This article contains affiliate links. If you sign up for Rakuten Mobile or apply for a Rakuten Card through a link marked “Ad”, we may receive a commission. It does not change which brands we list or what we write about them.

You land at Fukuoka Airport and need data for the first few days. A week later, your address is registered and you want a real contract, at a shop in Tenjin or Hakata or online. This guide covers both steps for Fukuoka City. It compares nine mobile brands on the ID they accept, the time left on your period of stay, payment, where you can apply and help in English. It also lists shops in Fukuoka City that the companies’ own store pages mark for foreign-language help. When a company does not say something, we write “Not stated”.

In short

  • For your first days, Fukuoka Airport’s international terminal has SIM and Wi-Fi counters and a SIM vending machine on the 1st floor (section 1).
  • Register your address first. au’s and UQ mobile’s online shops need the current address on your residence card’s IC chip (section 1).
  • Residence cards issued on or after June 14, 2026 cannot be used at docomo’s online shop or ahamo. povo does not take second-generation cards now (section 2).
  • In Fukuoka City, au lists au Style FUKUOKA (Tenjin) and au Style HAKATA as stores with international services. docomo says all its shops can call a phone interpreter (section 7).
  • The prices in section 6 are examples with different data and calls. Do not compare them as the same plan.

Checked with official pages on September 28, 2026.

1. Your first days in Fukuoka: data before a contract

1.1 Can I get a SIM at Fukuoka Airport?

Depends on the provider

Fukuoka Airport’s official site lists several SIM and Wi-Fi services on the 1st floor of the International Passenger Terminal Building, before security. Sakura Mobile and Telecom Square have counters that rent Wi-Fi routers and sell SIM cards; the airport lists both as open 7:00 to 21:00. A Global Wi-Fi SIM vending machine sells prepaid SIM cards from several carriers and takes cash, credit cards and electronic money. The airport page lists its hours as 5:00 to 22:40. The airport pages do not say whether these SIMs come with a Japanese phone number, so ask at the counter before you buy. See the airport’s WiFi Router / SIM Cards page. For getting into the city, see Fukuoka Airport: getting to the city.

1.2 Can I ask for help before I have a Japanese phone contract?

Fukuoka City

Yes. The Fukuoka City International Foundation says its LINE Call connects you for free to the Fukuoka City Consultation Support Center for Foreign Residents, even if your phone has no contract with a Japanese mobile carrier. Add the foundation’s LINE Official Account and press the call button. More on the center is in Help in your language in Fukuoka City.

1.3 Why register my address before I sign up?

Depends on the provider

au and UQ mobile say that their online shops cannot sign you up if the address on your ID differs from your current address; they ask you to update the name and address on the IC chip first, or to apply at a shop. Rakuten Mobile says the name, address and date of birth on your residence card must match your application. Your address is updated when you file your moving-in notice at your ward office. In Fukuoka City, you have 14 days from the day you start living at the new address. See Registering your address in Fukuoka City. Many brands also take a bank account for the monthly bill, so opening an account first can help; see Bank accounts in Fukuoka City.

2. Which brand fits your situation?

Depends on the provider

docomo, au, SoftBank and Rakuten Mobile have their own shops. docomo also runs ahamo; au runs povo and UQ mobile; SoftBank runs LINEMO and Y!mobile. Start with your situation, then check the tables in sections 3 to 6.

  • No Japanese credit card yet. docomo, ahamo, au, UQ mobile, SoftBank (at a shop), LINEMO, Y!mobile and Rakuten Mobile take a bank account. Rakuten Mobile adds ¥110 a month for this. povo takes a credit card or Paidy, but not a bank account or a debit card.
  • Less than 90 days or 3 months left on your stay. docomo and au (at a shop) then take only a credit card in your own name. au’s online shop, Y!mobile’s online store and povo need 90 days or more. au, UQ mobile and SoftBank may refuse phone installments that run past the end of your stay.
  • You want English on the phone. docomo, au, UQ mobile, SoftBank and Y!mobile list an English line (section 5). LINEMO says it works in Japanese only. Rakuten Mobile has English papers at its shops, but phone support is in Japanese only.
  • You want to skip the shop. ahamo, povo and LINEMO are online-only brands. The other six take online applications too.

Important

Is your residence card new? Second-generation residence cards issued on or after June 14, 2026, and Specified Residence Cards, cannot be used at docomo’s online shop or at ahamo. docomo suggests a docomo shop instead, and ahamo suggests a store running an ahamo sign-up fair. povo does not accept second-generation cards now. SoftBank’s and Y!mobile’s online stores check new cards through the delivery person, not the app. Rakuten Mobile accepts second-generation and Specified Residence Cards.

3. What ID do I need, and does the time left on my stay matter?

Depends on the provider

Each brand name jumps to its section in this article, with the official links.

Brand ID for foreign residents Time left on your stay
docomo Shop: residence card + passport, or + My Number Card or Japanese licence. No passport for permanent residents Under 3 months: own credit card only
ahamo Residence card. Not new cards from June 14, 2026 Not stated. Card must be valid
au Shop: residence card + passport (Specified Residence Card alone is enough). Online: IC chip Shop, under 90 days: own credit card only. Online: 90 days or more
povo Residence card. Not second-generation cards now Under 90 days: ID check fails
UQ mobile Shop: residence card + passport (Specified Residence Card alone is enough). Online: IC chip Bank account: 90 days or more. Credit card: any
SoftBank Residence card + passport. Permanent residents and Highly Skilled Professional (ii): card only Not stated for the line
LINEMO Residence card + passport photo page. Permanent residents: card only Not stated. Card must not be expired
Y!mobile Residence card + passport. Permanent residents and Highly Skilled Professional (ii): card only Online store: 90 days or more
Rakuten Mobile Residence card, including second-generation and Specified cards Not stated. Card must be valid

Two notes. ahamo’s 3-month rule is about paying: if your My Number Card expires in less than 3 months, you pay by a credit card in your own name. LINEMO’s English application guide says a residence card must show “Permanent Resident”, but its English top page accepts a residence card with a passport. If your case is close to one of these rules, ask the company first.

4. How can I pay, and where can I apply?

Depends on the provider

Brand Monthly payment Where to apply
docomo Shop: credit card or bank account. Online: credit card or online bank set-up Shop or online
ahamo Credit card, bank account, some debit cards Online. Paid help at docomo shops
au Credit card (debit included) or bank account Shop or online
povo Credit card or Paidy. No debit cards Online only
UQ mobile Credit card (debit included) or bank account Shop or online
SoftBank Shop: credit card or bank account. Online: credit card Shop or online
LINEMO Credit card, bank account, or Visa/Mastercard/JCB debit card Online only
Y!mobile Credit card or bank account Shop or online
Rakuten Mobile Credit card, some debit cards, or bank account (¥110 a month) Shop or online

UQ mobile says credit cards issued outside Japan may not work. ahamo’s help at a docomo shop costs ¥3,300.

5. Can I get help in English?

Depends on the provider

Brand English by phone At shops in Fukuoka City
docomo 0120-005-250, 9:00–20:00 All shops: phone interpreter
ahamo Not stated No shops (online brand)
au 0120-959-472, 9:00–20:00 au Style FUKUOKA and HAKATA listed
povo Not stated No shops (online brand)
UQ mobile 0800-777-5461, 10:00–19:00 At au stores listed for UQ mobile
SoftBank 0800-919-0157, 10:00–19:00 No Fukuoka shop on its English-crew list
LINEMO None: Japanese only No shops (online brand)
Y!mobile 0570-039-151 (press 5). Hours: Not stated Not stated
Rakuten Mobile None: Japanese only English papers and a phrase sheet

6. What does it cost?

Depends on the provider

Note

Each row is one example plan. Data, calls and extras differ, so the prices are not a like-for-like comparison. Prices are monthly, tax included, before discounts and without a phone, as shown on each plan page on September 28, 2026.

Brand Example plan Calls Cancel within 1 year
docomo docomo MAX: ¥5,698 (1GB), ¥6,798 (3GB), ¥8,448 (unlimited) Options from ¥880 ¥1,100
ahamo ¥2,970 (30GB). From Dec 1, 2026: ¥3,135 (40GB) to ¥5,115 (120GB) 5 min free ¥1,100
au au Value Link: ¥8,008 (unlimited) Options from ¥880 ¥1,100
povo Base ¥0; 3GB for 30 days ¥990 ¥22 / 30 sec None
UQ mobile Komikomi Plan Value: ¥3,828 (35GB) 10 min free ¥1,100
SoftBank PayToku 2: ¥10,538 (unlimited) ¥22 / 30 sec ¥1,100
LINEMO Best Plan: ¥990 (3GB), ¥2,090 (10GB) ¥22 / 30 sec ¥990
Y!mobile Simple 3 M: ¥4,378 (30GB) ¥22 / 30 sec ¥858
Rakuten Mobile Rakuten SAIKYO Plan: ¥1,078 (3GB), ¥2,178 (20GB), ¥3,278 (unlimited) Free with Rakuten Link* Up to ¥1,078

*Rakuten Mobile says some numbers are excluded. The cancellation fee applies to lines started on or after a set date: July 1, 2025 for docomo and ahamo, October 1, 2025 for au and UQ mobile, July 1, 2026 for SoftBank, and April 1, 2025 for Rakuten Mobile. LINEMO and Y!mobile count 12 months from the month the line starts. povo says it has no cancellation fee. The prices are for the plan only. If you buy a phone in installments, au, UQ mobile and SoftBank may refuse installments that run past the end of your stay. UQ mobile does not offer 60- or 72-month installments to foreign residents.

PR · The link goes to the Rakuten SAIKYO Plan page on Rakuten Mobile’s English site. Choose the Rakuten SAIKYO Plan, not the Data Type plan.

Rakuten Mobile (Ad)

Check Rakuten Mobile plans (Ad)

7. Brand by brand: official pages and shops in Fukuoka City

Official links in this section are not ads. Shop hours and closing days can change, so check the shop page before you go.

7.1 docomo

Depends on the provider

docomo’s English page says all docomo shops can call a phone interpreter for English, Portuguese, Chinese and Spanish, from 9:00 to 20:00, within shop hours. The staff member calls the interpreter and passes the phone to you. For a shop in Tenjin or Hakata, use the docomo Shop search (in Japanese). If your residence card was issued on or after June 14, 2026, docomo’s online shop cannot use it, and docomo suggests a shop. Official pages: ID for foreign customers, English support, docomo MAX (Japanese).

7.2 ahamo

Depends on the provider

ahamo is docomo’s online-only brand. It asks foreign customers to use a residence card and does not accept cards issued on or after June 14, 2026, or Specified Residence Cards. It takes some debit cards. A docomo shop can help you apply for ¥3,300. We did not find an English page. Official pages: requirements, plan (both Japanese).

7.3 au

Depends on the provider

au’s English store list names three Fukuoka City stores under “Our Stores with International Services”: au Style FUKUOKA in Tenjin, au Style HAKATA and au Style LALAPORT FUKUOKA. au asks you to book a shop visit before you go. au’s list says its interpreting service covers languages including English, Chinese, Korean, Spanish, Portuguese, Vietnamese, Tagalog and Nepali. The same stores also handle UQ mobile.

au Style FUKUOKA (auスタイル福岡): QizTENJIN, 1-14-45 Daimyo, Chuo Ward. Open 10:00 to 19:00, every day. au says it is a 6-minute walk from Tenjin Station on the Airport Line. Google Maps · 0800-300-0085.

au Style HAKATA (auスタイル博多): in Hakata Marui, directly connected to JR Hakata Station. Open 10:00 to 21:00 (reception until 20:00); closed when Hakata Marui is closed. Google Maps · 0800-300-0029.

Official pages: Foreign Language Service Store Locator, English customer center, ID at a shop and online (Japanese).

7.4 povo

Depends on the provider

povo is au’s online-only brand, with a base fee of ¥0 and paid data “toppings”. povo says it may stop and cancel a line if no paid topping is bought for 180 days or more. It needs 90 days or more left on your stay and does not take second-generation residence cards now. It has an English website; an English phone line is Not stated. Official pages: povo (English), ID check FAQ, payment FAQ (Japanese).

7.5 UQ mobile

Depends on the provider

UQ mobile has an English phone line, 0800-777-5461, from 10:00 to 19:00. au’s store list marks au Style FUKUOKA and au Style HAKATA as handling UQ mobile. If you buy a phone in one payment and pay by bank account, UQ mobile asks for 90 days or more left on your stay; with a credit card, the time left does not matter. Official pages: multilingual support, documents (Japanese), Komikomi Plan Value (Japanese).

7.6 SoftBank

Depends on the provider

SoftBank’s English shop page lists “Shops with English-speaking crew”. On September 28, 2026, that list had shops in Tokyo and Nagoya, but none in Fukuoka. The same page says customer service over video call is also available. The English phone line is 157 from a SoftBank phone (press 8) or 0800-919-0157, from 10:00 to 19:00. SoftBank shops also handle Y!mobile. Official pages: SoftBank Shop (English), English support, ID (Japanese).

7.7 LINEMO

Depends on the provider

LINEMO is SoftBank’s online-only brand. Its English page says application and support are available in Japanese only. It takes a credit card, a bank account, or a debit card with a Visa, Mastercard or JCB mark (not J-Debit). Official pages: LINEMO in English, plan (Japanese).

7.8 Y!mobile

Depends on the provider

Y!mobile’s English support line is 151 from a Y!mobile phone or 0570-039-151 from other phones; press 5 for English. The hours are Not stated. Its online store needs 90 days or more left on your stay, and it checks residence cards issued on or after June 14, 2026 through the delivery person. SoftBank shops in Fukuoka City, such as SoftBank Hakata Marui and SoftBank Fukuoka Tenjin, are listed as handling Y!mobile; their shop pages do not mention English. Official pages: language support, online store ID (Japanese).

7.9 Rakuten Mobile

Depends on the provider

Rakuten Mobile’s fee changes with the data you use each month: ¥1,078 up to 3GB, ¥2,178 up to 20GB and ¥3,278 with no limit (tax included). It accepts second-generation and Specified Residence Cards. You can apply online and use an eSIM, or apply at a shop. Rakuten Mobile says its shops have English versions of the Important Notice and application forms, and a point-and-speak phrase sheet. It also says some support is not available at electronics stores and post offices.

Limits, from Rakuten Mobile’s pages: phone support is in Japanese only. Bank account payment costs ¥110 a month, and you cannot use Rakuten Points on the bill with it. Only the Rakuten Bank debit card and some other debit cards work, and a registered debit card can still fail at billing. Speed may be restricted at busy times, and 5G is in some areas only.

Rakuten Mobile’s shop pages list two shops in central Fukuoka City:

  • Rakuten Mobile Fukuoka Tenjin Nishidori (楽天モバイル 福岡天神西通り店): Tenjin Luce, 2-3-24 Tenjin, Chuo Ward. Open 10:00 to 21:00 (reception until 20:00). Google Maps · 092-406-5160 · shop page (Japanese).
  • Rakuten Mobile Hakata Station Underground Mall (楽天モバイル 博多駅地下街店): 1-1 Chuogai, Hakata Ward. Open 10:00 to 20:00. Google Maps · phone booking 092-292-7986 · shop page (Japanese).

Official pages: Rakuten SAIKYO Plan, ID documents, shops (all in English).

What to say

英語の資料はありますか?

Eigo no shiryo wa arimasu ka?

Do you have the papers in English?

8. How do I sign up for Rakuten Mobile?

Depends on the provider

  1. Check that your phone works with Rakuten Mobile. The official site has a device check.
  2. Have your residence card ready. Rakuten Mobile asks you to upload the front and back (front only for a Specified Residence Card). Your name, address and date of birth must match what you enter. If the address on the card needs updating, Rakuten Mobile asks you to add a document that shows your current address.
  3. Have your payment ready. A credit card, a Rakuten Bank debit card or another debit card that works, or a bank account (¥110 a month).
  4. Apply online, or at the Tenjin or Hakata shop, and choose the Rakuten SAIKYO Plan.

PR · Rakuten SAIKYO Plan: ¥1,078 up to 3GB, ¥2,178 up to 20GB, ¥3,278 unlimited a month (tax included). Choose the Rakuten SAIKYO Plan, not the Data Type plan.

Rakuten Mobile (Ad)

Check Rakuten Mobile plans (Ad)

PR · Rakuten Card is a credit card issued by Rakuten Card Co., Ltd. Applications are screened, and a card may not be issued.

Rakuten Card (Ad)

Check Rakuten Card (Ad)

9. Common questions

How do I update the address on my residence card’s IC chip?

Rakuten Mobile’s FAQ says the chip address is registered when you report your new address at the city office. If you reported a move on or before Saturday, June 13, 2026, only the back of the card was updated, not the chip. To update the chip, you apply for a new card at a regional immigration office. In Fukuoka, that is the Fukuoka Regional Immigration Services Bureau.

When is my Rakuten Mobile bill paid?

Rakuten Mobile’s payment guide for foreign residents says you pay the month after use. A bank account is debited around the 27th of the next month. A Japanese debit card is charged around the 11th to 13th of the next month. A credit card is billed around the 11th to 13th, and the card company takes the money later.

What happens if a payment fails?

Rakuten Mobile sends an email or SMS with a date to pay by. If you do not pay, the line is stopped, and then the contract is cancelled. After that, the line and phone number cannot be restored. Rakuten Mobile says this may also affect new contracts with other phone companies.

I am leaving Japan. What should I do with my line?

Rakuten Mobile says to cancel before you leave, because monthly fees keep coming if you do not. The last bill comes in the month after you apply to cancel. Japanese cards and bank accounts may stop working after your period of stay ends, so Rakuten Mobile suggests changing your payment to a card issued outside Japan by the end of the month you apply to cancel.

Sources (checked September 2026)

A note before you go

Good information. Better decisions.

This guide brings together published information. Opening hours, fees and eligibility can change; check with the organizer before travelling or applying.