Many hot spring baths in Yamaguchi Prefecture let you bathe for a few hours without staying overnight. A bath you can visit this way is called a tachiyori-yu (立ち寄り湯) or a day-trip hot spring (日帰り温泉). This guide compares eight of them in four hot spring towns: Yuda (Yamaguchi City), Nagato Yumoto and Tawarayama (both Nagato City), and Kawatana (Shimonoseki City). It gives the fee, the hours, the closing days and the parking for each bath.
In short
- An adult pays ¥520 at Peaceful Seiryusen in Kawatana and ¥2,500 at Otani Sanso in Nagato Yumoto. The other six baths are in between.
- Three baths have no parking lot of their own: Onto and the two baths in Tawarayama. You park nearby and walk.
- Kamefuku On Place and Kawatana Grand Hotel Otafuku say no to guests with tattoos. Ask the other baths before you go.
- Hours and closing days differ even inside one town. Pick the bath first, then check its official page.
Checked with official pages on October 5, 2026.
Fees include tax. Prices are for an adult on a normal day. Tap a name to jump to its section.
| Bath (town) | Adult fee | Hours | Closed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kamefuku On Place (Yuda) | ¥1,500 | Mon–Sat 13:00–24:00, Sun 12:00–24:00 | Not stated |
| Hotel Kiraku (Yuda) | ¥700 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Onto (Nagato Yumoto) | ¥990 | 10:00–22:00 | Irregular |
| Otani Sanso (Nagato Yumoto) | ¥2,500 | Weekdays 12:00–21:30 | Some days |
| Machi no Yu (Tawarayama) | ¥650 | 6:00–22:00 | Not stated |
| Hakuen no Yu (Tawarayama) | ¥850 | 12:00–21:00 | Tue, Wed, Thu |
| Kawatana Grand Hotel Otafuku (Kawatana) | ¥950 (weekdays, 1 hour) | 8:00–23:00 | A few days a year |
| Peaceful Seiryusen (Kawatana) | ¥520 | 10:00–21:00 | 1st Thursday of even months |
Child fees, last entry times and weekend prices are in each section. Hotel and inn baths are open to day visitors, but call first if you are unsure about the day.
1. How do I choose between the four towns?
Depends on the town
The four towns are in three cities, so you will usually pick one town and drive or take a train there. Nagato Yumoto and Tawarayama are both in Nagato City. According to Otani Sanso, the drive from Tawarayama IC to Nagato Yumoto Onsen IC on the Nagato-Tawarayama Road takes about 7 minutes.
- Yuda (Yamaguchi City). By car, use Yuda Onsen Smart IC on the Sanyo Expressway. By train, the Yuda Onsen Tourist Information Office is about 15 minutes on foot from JR Yuda Onsen Station (JR Yamaguchi Line), according to the Yuda Onsen Ryokan Association.
- Nagato Yumoto (Nagato City). Otani Sanso lists a shared taxi from JR Shin-Yamaguchi Station for ¥3,000 per person. It takes about 1 hour 5 minutes and runs 4 times a day. The JR Mine Line (美祢線) is served by replacement buses, and JR West is changing some replacement bus stops from October 1, 2026. Check JR West’s notice before you travel by train.
- Tawarayama (Nagato City). The two baths here share one free parking lot (see section 5).
- Kawatana (Shimonoseki City). Otafuku has a free parking lot for 200 cars. Peaceful Seiryusen says it is about 40 minutes by car from Shimonoseki IC or the Kanmon Tunnel exit, and about 30 minutes from Kozuki IC. By train, take the JR San’in Line from Shimonoseki Station to Kawatana Onsen Station (about 40 minutes). The bath is about 2 km from the station, or about 5 minutes by taxi.
2. Yuda: two baths in Yamaguchi City
Yamaguchi City
2.1 Kamefuku On Place (かめ福オンプレイス) — “Fukufuku no Yu”
The day-trip bath is called Fukufuku no Yu (ふくふくの湯). Adults (junior high school age and up) pay ¥1,500, elementary school children ¥700 and younger children ¥300, and a face towel is included. Children aged 2 and under are free, but their face towel costs extra. A bath towel is ¥200 more.
- Hours. Monday to Saturday 13:00–24:00, Sunday 12:00–24:00. Last entry is 22:00.
- Water. Colorless, clear alkaline simple spring (pH 9.01).
- Payment. Cash, credit cards and QR code payment (such as PayPay).
- Who cannot bathe. The official page says children who are not out of diapers, people who may have an infection, and people with tattoos cannot use the bath.
- Parking. Use the Yuda Parking lot next door (about 450 cars). Bathers park free for up to 4 hours.
Address: 4-5-2 Yuda Onsen, Yamaguchi City (山口市湯田温泉4-5-2). Google Maps. Phone: 083-922-7000.
2.2 Hotel Kiraku (ホテル喜良久)
The Yuda Onsen Ryokan Association lists Hotel Kiraku’s day-trip bath at ¥700 for an adult. The page does not give hours, closing days or parking. Call before you go.
The same page lists five other inns that take day-trip bathers: Nishi no Miyabi Tokiwa, Umenoya, Sansuien, Oyado Onn and KKR Yamaguchi Asakura. It gives no fees or hours for them.
Address: 4-4-3 Yuda Onsen, Yamaguchi City (山口市湯田温泉4-4-3). Google Maps. Phone: 083-922-0333.
3. Nagato Yumoto: a public bath and a hot spring inn
Nagato City
3.1 Onto (長門湯本温泉 恩湯)
You can see the spring water come out of the rock from the bath. The water is an alkaline simple spring (pH 9.62). An adult ticket is ¥990, a child (ages 4–12) ¥500, and children aged 3 and under are free.
- Other tickets. An all-day ticket lets you leave and come back on the same day: ¥1,500 for an adult and ¥600 for a child. It is not sold from July 21 to August 31. A booklet of 11 tickets is ¥8,800 for an adult and ¥4,400 for a child.
- Hours. 10:00–22:00. Closing days are irregular, so check the official website or social media.
- Towels and soap. Towels are sold, and the official page lists towel rental as well. Shampoo, conditioner, body soap and a hair dryer are provided.
- Private bath. A private bath costs ¥30,000, with 2 groups a day and advance booking.
- English. The official site has an English page.
- Parking. Onto has no lot of its own. Use the city-run Nagato Yumoto Onsen parking lot on Route 316 (paid). It is about a 3-minute walk to Onto Square, according to the Nagato Yumoto Onsen official site. The fee table on that page is an image, so check it there.
Address: 2265 Fukawa Yumoto, Nagato City (長門市深川湯本2265). Google Maps. Phone: 0837-25-4100.
3.2 Otani Sanso (大谷山荘)
Otani Sanso is a large inn by the Otozure River, and it also takes day-trip bathers. The fee is ¥2,500 for an adult and ¥1,250 for an elementary school child. A bath towel and a hand towel are free.

- Hours. Weekdays 12:00–21:30. Weekends and holidays are in two blocks, 12:00–15:00 and 18:00–21:30.
- Closing days. The inn is closed on certain days and opens at 15:00 on the day after.
- Which bath. Men use the bath on the first floor and women use the bath on the second floor.
- Getting there. The inn’s access page says a free shuttle bus runs from Nagato Yumoto Station in about 5 minutes. The inn asks you to tell it your arrival time in advance.
The official page for day-trip bathing gives the phone as 0837-25-3300 (9:00–17:00). Google Maps.
4. Tawarayama: two public baths in Nagato City
Nagato City
The Tawarayama Onsen official site lists two baths, Machi no Yu and Hakuen no Yu. They open on different hours and different days, so decide which one you want before you go.
4.1 Machi no Yu (町の湯)
The fee is ¥650 for an adult, ¥350 for an elementary school child and ¥280 for a baby or small child. It is open from 6:00 to 22:00, and the rest room is open 9:00–17:00. The water is an alkaline simple spring.
A family bath (家族湯, a private bath for your group) costs ¥3,500 for up to 3 adults, or 3 adults and 2 children, and ¥500 for each extra person. You get 50 minutes. It is open 8:00–21:00 (last booking 20:00). Book by phone at 0837-29-0001 or on Jalan.
4.2 Hakuen no Yu (白猿の湯)
The fee is ¥850 for an adult, ¥620 for an elementary school child and ¥370 for a baby or small child. It is open 12:00–21:00 and closed every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. The days it opens can change, and the official site has an opening calendar. Check it before you go. The water is an alkaline simple spring, the same type as Machi no Yu.
Google Maps. Phone: 0837-29-0036.
5. Where do I park at the baths with no lot?
Depends on the bath
Onto and the two Tawarayama baths have no lot of their own. Onto uses the city-run lot on Route 316 (paid). For the two Tawarayama baths, the Yamaguchi Tourism Federation’s site says the free Tawarayama Yumachi No. 1 parking lot is available.
6. Kawatana: a hotel bath and a public bath in Shimonoseki City
Shimonoseki City
6.1 Kawatana Grand Hotel Otafuku (川棚グランドホテル お多福)
The large bath is called Santouka (山頭火). An adult pays ¥950 on weekdays, ¥1,150 on weekends and holidays and ¥1,450 on special days; a child (age 3 up to elementary school) pays ¥450, ¥550 or ¥700. These fees are for one hour. Hours are 8:00–23:00 and last entry is 22:00. The hotel has a free lot for 200 cars.
- Bath and meal set. A ticket that includes a ¥1,320 voucher for a meal is ¥1,800 on weekdays, ¥2,000 on weekends and holidays and ¥2,200 on special days.
- Private bath “Goten-yu” (御殿湯). A bath for up to 2 people for 50 minutes costs ¥3,950–¥5,050 depending on the room and the day. It is open weekdays 13:00–23:00 and weekends and holidays 8:00–23:00. The official page says a reservation is needed.
- House rules. Tattoos are not allowed. No alcohol or food in the bathing area, and no photos. Shampoo, conditioner, body soap and hair dryers are provided.
- Closing days. The hotel is open all year except a few maintenance days. The hotel posts them in its news.
Address: 4912-1 Kawatana, Toyoura-cho, Shimonoseki City (下関市豊浦町川棚4912-1). Google Maps. Phone: 083-774-1111 (9:30–19:00).
6.2 Peaceful Seiryusen (ぴーすふる青竜泉)
This is a public bath. Prices were revised in October: an adult is now ¥520, an elementary school child ¥180 and a young child ¥90. It is open 10:00–21:00 with last entry at 20:30. It is closed on the first Thursday of February, April, June, August, October and December.
- With a rest room. ¥800 for an adult, ¥300 for an elementary school child and ¥200 for a young child. You can use it until 20:00.
- Family bath. ¥1,100 for an adult, ¥500 for an elementary school child and ¥300 for a young child. You get 80 minutes on weekdays and 60 minutes on weekends and holidays. On weekends and holidays, you must go in a group of two or more. The same applies from August 13 to 16 and from December 30 to January 5.
- Booklet. 11 tickets for ¥5,200.
Address: 5159-2 Kawatana Yucho, Toyoura-cho, Shimonoseki City (下関市豊浦町川棚湯町5159-2). Google Maps. Phone: 083-772-0047.
7. What should I check before I go?
- Hours and closing days. Hakuen no Yu is closed Tuesday to Thursday, and Onto’s closing days change. Look at the official page the day before.
- Weekend prices. Otafuku charges more on weekends, holidays and special days.
- Private baths. Family and private baths have set time slots, and some need a booking.
- Parking. Onto and the Tawarayama baths have no lot of their own.
- Language. The official pages for most of these baths are in Japanese. Onto has an English page. The pages we read do not say whether staff speak English.
Common questions
Do I need to book a day-trip bath?
The pages we read do not ask for a booking for the regular baths. Private baths are different: Otafuku’s private bath needs a reservation, Onto’s private bath needs a booking in advance, and Machi no Yu takes family bath bookings by phone or on Jalan.
Can I bathe with a tattoo?
Kamefuku On Place and Kawatana Grand Hotel Otafuku say tattoos are not allowed. Other baths in this guide do not state a rule on the pages we read, so ask before you go.
Do the baths give out towels?
Kamefuku On Place includes a face towel in the fee, and Otani Sanso lends a bath towel and a hand towel for free. Onto sells towels.
Sources (checked October 2026)
- Kamefuku On Place: Fukufuku no Yu (Japanese)
- Yuda Onsen Ryokan Association: day-trip bathing and access (Japanese)
- Nagato Yumoto Onsen Onto (Japanese; English page) and Nagato Yumoto Onsen parking (Japanese)
- Otani Sanso: day-trip hot spring and access (Japanese)
- Tawarayama Onsen: baths (Japanese) and Yamaguchi Tourism Federation: Nagato and Tawarayama (Japanese)
- Kawatana Grand Hotel Otafuku: day trip and FAQ (Japanese)
- Peaceful Seiryusen: fees and home page (Japanese)
- JR West: Mine Line replacement bus stops from October 1, 2026 (Japanese, PDF)